To Market, To Market…Revisited

I received an email from a reader of this blog scolding me slightly for sounding negative in yesterday’s post. Said reader (I know where you live) suggested that instead of being “sarky” I shared my approach to building a marketing platform. Personally I think it’s just a ploy because she’s too lazy to work it out for herself but she makes mighty good cakes which often make their way to me. (No! It’s not my mum).

So, using the list I produced yesterday, here are some of the planks and nails that are going to build my marketing platform for my book “Time for Your Life”

Social Media – I shall tweet, facebook and link-in in an escalating format – “only ten days to go…” you know the sort of thing. It’s also where early reviews extolling the virtues of the book will make their debut.
Press, TV & Radio – these call for press releases. There was a helpful blog about writing these to be found at http://writegoodbooks.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/promote-your-self-published-book-give-the-media-what-they-want-better-press-releases/. I realise I’ll have to keep slots in my diary for the several interviews that will naturally follow the press releases but hey ho…that’s life.
Articles – I’m already on with this and angling each article so that it is specific to an industry, profession or other group. For example healthcare, small biz owners; working mums.
Public Speaking – here’s where I piggy-back onto the day job in the form of workshops that I run particularly Personal Effectiveness and Time Management. I’m not sure whether anything else is possible given that there will be no back-of-room sales with an ebook.
Websites/Email – Promoting on my own sites plus a link to my landing page on few others. Going to add a little banner to my email signatures.
Friends and Family – will be bribed or bullied unmercifully to promote and sell on my behalf.

One additional one – Influencers – clients/ex-clients/HR Managers whose organisations have a staff training section on their Intranets. I’ll let them have a free copy to put up in the hope that individual staff members will want to have their own copies.

There, that’s my platform and not a bit of sarky in sight. I’ve no doubt as it gets closer to launch date (only 30 days to go folks) it’ll all change.
Am I shriven now?

Leave a Reply

