Thank Goodness for Libraries

Arrived home late last night to find the internet crisis unresolved. As it was too late to make urgent pleas for help from anyone I know I fiddled around for a couple of hours convinced that if I couldn’t get ADSL type Broadband I’d be able to get Wireless through my hub. Eventually I gave up – I mean if my laptop says its connected to Wireless isn’t it reasonable to suppose one can access the internet? Apparently not one of my extra-techie friends enlightened me in a rather amused and patronising tone. Ha! What a simpleton I am when it comes to matters techie. How was I going to get my 40 a day internet fixes?

So buzzing around like a wasp in a jam jar I eventually settled on our local library. Now I haven’t really hung out in libraries for a good few years – ever since I transferred my love and loyalty to the www. world so I didn’t really have any very high expectations. What a delightful surprise. Friendly reception, books of every genre I’ve ever heard of and some I hadn’t; reference area packed with stuff I can use for a local history book I’m writing and…best of all…7 computers and 3 shared printers…all for FREE! Now I think that’s pretty awesome for a one horse seaside town where even the horse has left. So despite all that, it’s good to know my hard-earned council tax pennies haven’t been totally wasted. If you have a local library make sure you don’t lose it to budget cuts.

Now I’m back on line I’ve booked some sessions for tomorrow so some sort of normal service may be resumed. I wouldn’t like to deprive my legions of followers of my pearls of wisdom. The only fly in the ointment is the fact that I’m crap with passwords – so crap in fact that they’re all stored in LastPass vault and I can’t get at the master password that’ll let me get up and at ’em. So I guess I’m going to have to make a list of all the passwords I remember devising and try each out in turn. I’ll probably get locked out of the sites and then I’ll get locked up for obscene language!

2 thoughts on “Thank Goodness for Libraries

  1. I’m rediscovering the delights of those that survive. I’m lucky, I’ve 3 excellent ones within easy reach. They’ve been a godsend to me whilst i’m STILL struggling to get back on line. I’ll not take them for granted again.

Leave a Reply

