Twice in One Week!

Oh my goodness; twice in one week! Whatever’s going on?

I refer of course to yet another light-bulb moment; an ah-ha with bells and whistles.
(What did you think I meant?)

Writing is a learning process!

There I’ve said it. Bet you never thought of that.

The back story goes: coach working with client; client learning new skill; client finding it really difficult, harder than she thought; client much discouraged has thrown in the towel and is back to square one.

This back story reminded me of my own approach to writing…not forming my letters writing but write-writing …things; stories, plays; articles. It went something like this.

In the beginning was blissful ignorance – I didn’t know what I didn’t know about writing; I thought I just needed to pen words of whatever and the world would fall at my feet. I was quite cocky about it.

After my first few attempts to both write and sell my work I got a bit of a reality check. I began to understand what I didn’t know. It was quite daunting. My confidence started to evaporate as I realised there was far more to this writing lark than I’d previously realised. I discovered
a) there’s a lot to learn
b) I’m not very good at it and
c) others are better at it than I am.

It was at this point that I put aside the pen and paper, the little blue Olivetti portable typewriter (every serious writer’s accessory at the time) and got myself a proper job.

Umpty years later I pick up the pen again; I start to make a little progress, steady-as-she-goes type progress. I think I’m developing some writing skills; it takes me a long time to generate even 300 words; I have to really concentrate but my confidence is in the ascending.

I believe there is a fourth stage, Nirvana, when everything will just seem easy. Plots, characters, language, continuity – the whole works will become as natural as breathing. I see myself pouring out the words without conscious effort. This will be the peak of my confidence and skill.

Then I wake up.

Some of you may recognise this as a pastiche (I’ve always wanted to use that word) of the conscious/unconscious model of learning. If you do, just remember, no-one likes a smart-arse.

Happy weekend.

2 thoughts on “Twice in One Week!

    • Thank you and yes, on occasions I am a smart arse. The learning model is something I use all the time in my coaching practice but was too close to so I didn’t see the connection with writing Doh! I get there in the end. Thanks for dropping by, I do believe I’m flattered.:)

Leave a Reply

